Heavenly Steel-Cut Oatmeal

I like oatmeal, the rolled variety cooked with water and a dash of cinnamon, adorned with nuts, butter and brown sugar.  However, I LOVE this steel-cut oatmeal recipe.  I had always shied away from making steel-cut oats because of the time commitment (40 minutes vs 5 minutes for rolled oats), even though I usually have a canister of it in my cupboard.  Then I read about these miraculous oats on Orangette and I am not sure I can go back to the quick variety again, at least for breakfast.   The rolled ones will always have a place in cookies and granola, but that might be their only role in my kitchen now.   This pot of goodness cooks up so nutty, creamy, and has a little chew still in the oats.  I have taken to adding vanilla or almond extract and a handful of raisins (which plump up nicely) along with the oats to the simmered milk/water and I highly recommend you do the same.  And if you have leftovers, it reheats perfectly with a little water.  I think I might try using toasted coconut and coconut milk next time.Steel Cut Oatmeal2Steel-Cut Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup steel-cut oatmeal
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla or almond extract
  • dash of cinnamon
  • handful of raisins (or other dried fruit)
  • Optional toppings: nuts, bananas, berries, brown sugar, maple syrup, etc.

Directions

  1. In a skillet over medium heat, melt the butter and then toast the oats until fragrant and golden, stirring occasionally; about five minutes.  Set aside.
  2. In a saucepan, bring the water, milk, sugar and salt to a simmer, then add the extract, cinnamon, raisins, and oats.  Bring to a simmer and lower the heat, partially cover and cook for about 25-30 minutes, again stirring occasionally.
  3. Serve with any desired toppings.
One thought on “Heavenly Steel-Cut Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

